Tuesday, February 25, 2014

Loved and lost have you?

I have heard a lot of people express feelings akin to having loved and lost in their lives; how they've had a star crossed romantic episode only to end up falling apart. I have read a lot about it too. I would beg to disagree- first to the concept of losing and then some more about this oxy-moronic phrase.

We all stumble through life looking for our dreams- who doesn't have a dream? Even the most hapless and  aimless of people have dreams which can rival those of the most ambitious of people. The only difference being a choice we make- act on our dreams or not act on our dreams.

In this journey, we inevitably meet people who we admire and find incredibly attractive and fun. This small window in time when we found such counterparts is itself a reward, with indelible moments shared and memorable experiences had. Yes, some of us have a knack of extending this to last their entire lives, but it is mathematical and logically  impossible for everyone to be able to do so. If that is the case, why shouldn't you be thankful to have had those treasure trove of memories to last your entire life? This isn't a loss, its just life, the flip side of a coin, if it were a pie we could have half each, but a man or a woman is no pie- you have them completely or not at all. Even if you now no longer are together, you had them for sometime, didn't you?

When you have loved, truly loved, don't you feel like the king of the world? Don't you feel like you are levitating six inches above the ground? Don't you feel happy? If not, then you aren't in love- you are mimicking love; you love the idea of being in love.

If you can tether yourself to the happier times, why would you ever say that you've lost? For isn't happiness what we all long for, at the end? Would you buy a Ferrari to cry about? And even if you then had to return it because you couldn't afford the payments, you still drove the Ferrari for a day or two, and isn't that much better than someone who could not even dare to dream about the Ferrari but had a Toyota?

No comments: